Day ONE : Round ONE

Dutch bow out as quartet of Englishmen progress on DPD Day One

After an absence of eight years, world class squash returned to the Netherlands as Round One of the DPD Open Squash took place in Eindoven.  Today’s matches were split between the DPD Centre and Squash Time, with all matches from round two onwards at the DPD Centre.

There was no joy for the Dutch players today, with Tessa ter Sluis, Milou van der eijden and Roshan Bharos all falling, but the crowd enjoyed the return of long time Dutch-resident Nicol David as she beat world junior champion Rowan Elaraby.

Upsets in the women’s matches as Rachael Grinham turned back the years to beat Olivia Blatchford Clyne in five games and Hollie Naughton recorded her first win over Emily Whitlock, also in five.

In the men’s draw Chris Simpson was the only player to upset the seedings as he beat long time rival Tom Richards, and he was one of four Englishmen to progress, Declan James beating world junior champion Mostafa Asal in strait games  while James Willstrop and Daryl Selby both scraped through in five.

The top eight seeds join the action for round two, which is split over two days.


DPD Open Squash : ROUND ONE

Nele Gilis (Bel) 3-1 Julianne Courtice (Eng)                                      7-11, 11-8, 11-9, 11-7 (54m)
Rachael Grinham (Aus) 3-2 Olivia Blatchford Clyne (Usa) 11-8, 11-9, 7-11, 8-11, 11-6 (45m)
Mazen Hesham (Egy) 3-1 Mathieu Castagnet (Fra)                        11-8, 11-7, 4-11, 11-8 (57m)
Declan James (Eng) 3-0 Mostafa Asal (Egy)                                                 11-5, 11-3, 11-9 (38m)

Yathreb Adel (Egy) 3-0 [wc] Tessa ter Sluis (Ned)                                      11-3, 11-9, 11-4 (17m)
Hollie Naughton (Can) 3-2 Emily Whitlock (Eng)              13-11, 7-11, 6-11, 11-6, 11-9 (56m)
Raphael Kandra (Ger) 3-0 George Parker (Eng)                                        11-7, 13-11, 11-3 (40m)
Gregoire Marche (Fra) 3-2 Borja Golan (Esp)                        9-11, 11-7, 6-11, 11-9, 11-5 (78m)

Nicol David (Mas) 3-1 Rowan Elaraby (Egy)                                    11-8, 9-11, 11-8, 11-7 (37m)
Mariam Metwally (Egy) 3-1 Coline Aumard (Fra)                      12-10, 9-11, 11-7, 11-6 (45m)
James Willstrop (Eng) 3-2 Cameron Pilley (Aus)              6-11, 11-7, 8-11, 11-9, 11-5 (65m)
Daryl Selby (Eng) 3-2 Lucas Serme (Fra)                            4-11, 11-4, 11-8, 9-11, 11-5 (80m)

Millie Tomlinson (Eng) 3-1 Milou van der Heijden (Ned)      11-7, 11-6, 9-11, 11-6 (46m)
Amanda Sobhy (Usa) 3-1 Danielle Letourneau (Can)         12-10, 6-11, 11-7, 11-8 (33m)
Joel Makin (Wal) 3-0 [wc] Roshan Bharos (Ned)                                11-3, 11-4, 11-5 (42m)
Chris Simpson (Eng) 3-1 Tom Richards (Eng)                    14-12, 15-13, 7-11, 11-7 (70m)